Tuesday, December 16, 2014

Please complete this anonymous survey

Class:

For the final project of the semester, please go to the following link and complete the JTED/CTE survey.

TAKE THE SURVEY





The survey is anonymous and I value your opinion! 

Thank you.

Mr. Komar

Monday, December 8, 2014

Exercise 19 - Creating your own Website (Jimdo vs. Wix)

Due December 12
100 Points



Jimdo

Wix

Instructions

You will now begin to create a website for yourself using the free service, www.jimdo.com or www.wix.com

Follow this presentation on how to get started in Jimdo.
Follow this presentation on how to get started in Wix.

Which one should you choose?
Jimdo is easier to get started, you get a cool address like thmsgraphicdesign.jimdo.com, and it will get the job done fine.

Wix is a bit more complex, your address will be like what I set up: paulkomar.wix.com/thmsgraphicdesign, but you get way more choices for functionality, apps and other add ons for the free service.

You decide...

Requirements

  1. Your site must have an area to link to your resume and contact information (although you do not provide that contact information).  You are to just provide a placeholder and put in a fake address/phone number.  
  2. You must have an area "about" you as a designer (not as just a student), and your "portfolio".  You might want to have separate pages for your content, like "photos", "drawings", "designs".
  3. You must show at least 4 exercises that we have completed in this class.  That means if you will need to make Web compliant graphic for Adobe Illustrator drawings and Photoshop Documents.  See last exercise about converting your images into JPEG, GIF or PNG files.
Make a screen print (command+shift+3), rename the screen print as period#_lastname_firstname_19x and turn in to Mr. Komar Dropbox.

Thursday, December 4, 2014

PREPARE FOR WEB DAY - File clean up and preparation.

Today you will want to spend time preparing your files for the Web Portfolio.

You need to have all your work in file formats that can be displayed in a browser - JPG, PNG or GIF. (Remember the animation?  Remember we had to save as a GIF format?)

As a review, JPEG, PNG and GIF are file formats that compress the original image and put it into a format that can be displayed by browsers from multiple companies.  In other words, you do not need special software to view the file.  JPEG will compress your file but it will also reduce the file size, nice for sending files over communication lines but not nice if you want to preserve the quality of your photos.  PNG has become popular in the last few years because it is "lossless".  Supposedly you will not lose quality.

STEPS:
1.  Open Finder,
and start to organize your files on your computer.

Place all of your content in various folders into your DOCUMENTS folder.

Place all your content into smaller folders for each exercise, like 5_last_first_15x

2.  Open Adobe Illustrator,
3.  Open all of your Illustrator work from the first semester and go to File > Save for Web..

4.  If you have multiple pieces of art in a file, or you want to break up an Illustration, you need to make or edit your art boards.  Click the Artboard icon.


The 3rd art board in my file will be saved because it is "selected".  If you click on the other art boards, you can then go to File > Save for Web... and those art boards will be saved as JPEG or what ever format you select.

5.  You need to try to get your images to a size roughly 1000px x whatever.  In other words, make your images that are super big (over 1000px wide) smaller and the smaller ones you can decide to make them bigger or not.  A smaller image may be better to leave small.

Good Luck!


Monday, November 24, 2014

Exercise 18 - Preparing a Portfolio Web Site

100 Points
25 points - hand drawing of your design
75 points - Photoshop mockup (period#_lastname_firstname_18x)


Class,
After you return from Thanksgiving we will begin to make a Portfolio Website.

However, before you begin to create the website, I want you to create the "landing page" or "home page" for your portfolio website.  This is a project you will use Photoshop and hand drawn sheet of what you want -- before you choose pre made templates.

This is a website about you!  About your work, your photography, your drawings, your Photoshop work you made, what ever you want to show employers, colleges or others who you are as an artist.

Here are some examples of portfolio website home pages





1.  Hand Drawn page design

Use the template sheet given to you.

In order to create a website, designers begin with pencil and paper and draw out their ideas before they commit to the computer.  Try thinking about making your own design by hand so you are not forced into a design just because Apple made a template a certain way!

Remember that you might help yourself by creating a grid or some kind of measurement system.

Here are some examples of hand drawn web pages.

The idea is to get the idea out on paper...don't waste time trying to make software do what you want to express an idea.  Start with some simple words that describe the purpose of the site, maybe some thoughts about what you want and do not want on the page(s).  Some sketches are very rough and some much more illustrated in order to draw out the exact logos you want.  
2.  Photoshop Mock-up

Use the template found in the Shared Folder in the 960 Grid System folder for Photoshop.  Choose the 12, 16 or 24 grid.  

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Exercise 17 - Design your own iPhone App

Due: November 21
100 Points




Today you will design an icon for an app that you create!

Requirements:
1.  Use the Photoshop template found in the Mr. Komar Shared Folder for Exercise 17.
2.  Make an App Icon.
3.  Type a 1 paragraph description of the app and what it will do in Microsoft Word.
4.  Save the photoshop file and the Word document to a FOLDER called period#_lastname_firstname_17x.

Steps:
1.  Look for 2 files in the Mr. Komar Shared Folder under Ex 17:
      a.  App Icon Template [3.3].atn
      b.  App Icon Template [3.3].psd
2.  Copy both to your computer.

3.  Open Photoshop.

4.  Open the .psd template file and then go and double click on the 1st file, App Icon Template [3.3].atn.  The .atn file is what makes the necessary "action" which you will use later to export the different sized graphics.

5.  Draw a design in Illustrator and bring in image, or import image you already made this semester, or import a photo...you decide.  

6.  Look in the Layers panel.  See the layer that says, "Edit me and ..."?  Double click on the graphic on that layer box...yes the little graphic.  



7.  You then get a BIG version of the box to put in your design...I put in a Whale Shark.



8.  When you are happy with the design, go to File > Save..., then close the file and your original template will update with your design.  

9.  If you want to export the different icon sizes to show your friends and family, go to Window > Actions...


See the one that says "Icon Export"?  Click on one of those and press the button that looks like a triangle.

10.  A Window comes up confirming the settings...just go with the ones preselected.

11.  Save them to FOLDER called period#_lastname_firstname_17x along with the original photoshop file.

12.  Open up Microsoft Word in your Applications > Microsoft Office folder.
13.  Type at least 1 paragraph describing what you app will do.

14.  Save the file to the same folder above and turn it all in!

Sunday, November 16, 2014

Exercise 16 : A Collage

Exercise 13
Due November 20
100 Points

The next project is for you to make a collage.  That is a collection of images that combine to make a new image.  Use Photoshop (and Illustrator if you need to draw something or make special font shapes of text) to make a collage "painting".



Still Life, Le Corbusier, 1920
Pablo Picasso, Compotier avec fruits, violon et verre,1912



You must AT LEAST include the following:
1.  A portrait (or the portrait you drew 1st Quarter) of someone
2.  Text
3.  At least 1 building (or landscape object)

You may include any number of items.

Try to use opacity changes on a layer or two in order to see through objects.

The image must be 4" x 6" at 200 PPI 

The image must be saved as a JPEG

Save the image as period#_lastname_firstname_16x


Previous Examples